Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

To Taste

Salt is one of the most important flavor enhancers you can use. It can reduce bitterness and acidity, as well as bring out other flavors. It’s even a good idea to add a dash when you are making homemade baked goods. One of the biggest problems I have ever had in cooking is figuring out how much salt and pepper to use when I am creating recipes. 
When I was younger, I used to try to add salt from a salt shaker. That’s a really bad idea because it takes a long time to shake enough out to really season an entire recipe’s worth of food. My food was super bland when I did this. I finally decided to put my salt in a bowl with an easily removable lid and a spoon to make adding it quick and easy. After that, it still took me some time to come up with a general rule for seasoning. I wanted to share my general seasoning rule, but I also want to remind you that you need to taste your food while cooking it. That is the only sure fire way to know how much to season. Every person is different. Just make sure that you wash your tasting spoon well between tastes, or use a fresh one each time. I got some small spoons and forks from Ikea just to taste with.
My seasoning guidelines could be too much, or too little depending on your taste. So, try starting with 1/2 of what I recommend and then adding more if you feel like the dish needs it.
Guidelines:
For every 1 lb of meat in a dish (except soups) I use 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. With soups, for each 6 cups of liquid, I use 2 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. black pepper. For a standard flavor balance, you always want to use 1/2 as much pepper as you do salt. 
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2010 by in Eat.

Navigation