Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Recipe Review- Hot and Sour Soup

I think I’m up and running again. I went to the grocery store 1st thing this morning. When I got home,  I made a nice lunch of homemade hot and sour soup using this Tyler Florence recipe http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/hot-and-sour-soup-recipe/index.html. I made some changes:

  1.  Boxed stock instead of homemade.
  2.  I left out the chicken/pork, but did use a small handful of baby shrimp.
  3.  I used two egg whites instead of one.
  4.  I used a package of dried shitake instead of wood ears (big mushroom lover here.)
  5. I substituted 2 cups of the mushroom soaking liquid for 2 cups of the stock. 
  6. I added 1/2 cup cubed water chesnuts.
  7. I added 2 stalks cubed celery
  8. I added 1/4 cup small cubed carrots
  9. I halved the ginger
  10. I added an extra tsp salt and extra 1/2 tsp pepper (I used black b/c I like the color.)
  11. I added a handful of green peas
I also fried up some homemade crunchy noodles to float in the soup. I cut egg roll wrappers into small strips and fried them in hot veggie oil. When they were crisp, I drained them on paper towels and sprinkled with salt (we were eating them as a snack.) This soup was amazing. It was a bit of work, but I love cooking and had an empty house (kids were playing in the snow), so it was me time. 
It feels good to get going again!
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2011 by in Recipes.