Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Quick Bathroom Clean-Up

I have a process that makes for a quick and earth friendly cleaning of the bathroom. Just follow these steps and your humble commode will be clean in a flash:

1. Get those toilets soaking- Time is your friend when it comes to clean toilets. The longer you can soak them, the fresher they will be. I clean mine with Borax. It is safe, and inexpensive. First, I sprinkle it around the dry part of the bowl and scrub with a wet toilet brush. Next, I take 1/4 of a cup, swish it in the toilet water, make sure all surfaces inside the toilet have been wetted with the liquid, then I put down the lid and forget about it.

2. Sweep the floors-Do it now so you won’t have water on the floor from cleaning the sinks and tubs to contend with.

3. Clean the tub/ shower- Time is also your friend here. Wet the tub/shower with hot water. Take your scrub brush and give it a good blob of dish soap. Use the brush to scrub down the shower or tub. Allow to sit for a few minutes before rinsing.

4. Wipe down the toilet and surrounding area- I do this using non-toxic baby wipes. They do a nice job and you can toss them in the trash so as not to spread germs. If you are afraid of germs, you can spray the rim and outside with rubbing alcohol, cheap vodka, or hydrogen peroxide from a small bottle and allow to sit for 10 minutes (you can let the alcohol evaporate naturally.)

5. Clean the sink- Again, use Dawn or some other dish liquid and scrub down the sink and faucet.  Rinse well with hot water and dry with a microfiber towel.

6. Clean counters and cabinets- I use a sponge and dish liquid for this. Be sure to rinse after wiping down and dry thoroughly. Again, you can spray these with various agents after washing if you are afraid of germs.

7. Rinse tub/shower- If you have water spots on the glass door, put some rubbing alcohol on a paper towel and clean the spots off with it. Dry well. I have also hear that Magic Erasers work very well.

8. Clean mirrors- I use good old Windex and a microfiber cloth for this. I have tried homemade cleaners and nothing has worked like Windex does.

9. Mop floor- I use a Swiffer Wet Jet. I do feel shame in using a disposable product, but it is the best I have found at trapping dirt and getting my floors clean. I have heard that you can refill the bottles by running the cap under really hot water and twisting it off with pliers. You could fill it with some sort of earth friendly cleaner. I have also used a maxi pad as a cleaning pad when I have run out. It works well and is cheap if you can get past the ick factor of using a maxi pad.

10. Flush toilet

2 comments on “Quick Bathroom Clean-Up

  1. Rosandra
    January 12, 2011

    If people don't like using Borax and like good old fashioned toliet bowl cling gel… the Clorox Green Works brand works great and it's cheaper than some of the "green" brands. For glass shower doors… vinegar and large granular salt. Once you do the hard scrubbing work for the glass door, wipe a little baby oil on it to repel water and keep it clean longer 🙂

  2. Kimberly
    January 12, 2011

    I have to confess that I keep a bottle of Method toilet bowl cleaner for those times when I feel like the toilet needs a little extra cleaning. I also keep a bottle of spray bleach cleaner put away(although I will be making my own with bleach and water next time) in case any of us has a stomach virus. I have found that the plant based toilet bowl cleaners do an excellent job. The bottles just go so quickly, so I save them for "deep" cleaning.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2011 by in Greener Cleaning, Home.