Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Money Saving Wine Tip

I have shared this tip on my cooking blog, but wanted to share it here as well. It is a tip for cooking with wine. I know that many people like to cook with wine, but are not regular wine drinkers. Even if you drink wine, you may not want to open a bottle just to cook with. To fix this problem, I started buying four-packs of the smaller bottles of wine. I use Sutter Home. I get it for around $5.00 for a four-pack. I keep it in the cabinet with my herbs and spices. I always keep a red (Cabernet) and white (Chardonnay or a dry white) on hand.

One issue that some may have with this is that all of the fancy chefs go on about using a really good wine to cook with. I am here to tell you that this wine is fine for adding flavor to dishes where wine is not the main component. I wouldn’t use it for a Beef Burgundy or a Coq au Vin, but it works really well in cream sauces, soups, stews, and gravies. I can honestly say that I am unable to tell a difference between this wine and expensive wines in these types of dishes.

The great thing about these wines is that you can pour the leftovers into a freezer baggie and pop it into the freezer until the next time you need a small amount.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2011 by in Eat.