Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Food Finds: Mary’s Gone Crackers

Mary’s Gone Crackers is one of those products I would normally avoid like the plague at the store. It’s wheat free, gluten free, vegan, organic and kosher–basically devoid of all of the things I hold dear in life (except the organic part.) But, thanks to a party at work with some gluten sensitive co-workers, I discovered what has now become my favorite cracker. These are insanely good. All of my coworkers are now addicted to these. 
It is basically a disk of pressed brown rice, quinoa, brown flax, and sesame seeds with some natural flavorings. It’s really crunchy and super flavorful. I spread it with Laughing Cow Light cheese for  a healthy snack that is under 200 calories. 
One thing I love about these, besides the taste, is that, unlike regular crackers, these are full of complex carbohydrates (the good kind) that come from the whole grains. They also have 3 grams of fiber and 3 grams of protein, so they won’t  wreak havoc on your blood sugar. You get 13 of these little gems for 140 calories and 5 grams of fat. 
They are pricey. Super Target has them at a better price than anywhere else I’ve found. I thin they are around $3.00 at the store near my house. There is an online coupon for $1.00 off on their website.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2011 by in Eat, Favorite Products, Gluten Free, Organic Eating.