Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Stock in the Slow Cooker-Practically Free

I recently learned a trick that has me making my own stocks on a regular basis–making them in the slow cooker. Before I found this trick, I never made my own stocks because it can be a real pain in the rear to have to babysit a stockpot for several hours. This method is so easy, you can make your own stock any time you want.

My favorite stock to make, lately, has been homemade chicken stock. It’s so easy, and the way I do it, it is practically free. We buy a rotisserie chicken fairly often. I use some of the meat one night to make a spinach salad. The next day, DH takes the legs in his lunch. Then, I pick off most of the remainder of the meat (I leave some meat and most of the skin on the carcass for the stock) and make a casserole of some kind. Finally, I take the chicken carcass, put it in the slow cooker with veggie odds and ends  (I save onion ends, the end of the celery, carrot tops, and other veggie scraps in a baggie in the fridge) , 3-4 cloves of smashed garlic, a bay leaf or two, then a bit of salt, and pepper. I fill the slow cooker 2/3 full with water, and I cook it on low all day or all night. I let it cool, skim off all of the junk, and either freeze it, or use it in one of my many variations of chicken soups.

You can make some other really nice stocks in your slow cooker too. Trent, over at the blog The Simple Dollar has a really good post about making your own stock in your slow cooker, basically for free, and teaches you  a formula of sorts to do so. I made my own veggie stock once using his method, and it was amazing. It tasted nothing like the boxed stocks you get from the store.

http://www.thesimpledollar.com/2010/11/07/turning-kitchen-waste-into-something-sublime/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2011 by in Eat, Money Saving Ideas, Recipes.