Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

What in the Heck does that Mean? Herbes de Provence

In the spirit of our last what in the heck does that mean post, since I mentioned herbes de Provence, I thought I should explain what they are and what you can use them for. Herbes de Provence is an herb/seasoning mix consisting of herbs that may or may not be commonly used in Provence, which is a region in France.  It generally contains Bay leaf, thyme, fennel, rosemary, chervil, oregano, summer savory, tarragon, lavender, and marjoram, although many manufacturers have a proprietary blend that may contain other herbs as well.

This just happens to be my favorite herb blend. I think it goes best with chicken. I use it in chicken soups ( 1-2 Tbsp–depending on how strong you like the taste), when I  roast chicken (2-3 tbsp.–again depending on how herby you like yours), in chicken and dumplings, and in dishes that have cream and/or white wine in them. A lot of people also use them to season roasted veggies and on roasted pork.

It may be hard to find depending on where you live. I get it in the bulk spices at my local organic grocer. There are recipes for it on the internet if you Google the term “herbes de Provence.” 
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2012 by in Cooking 101, Eat, What in the Heck Does That Mean? Cooking Terms.