Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Food Finds: Almond Milk

Almond milk is a delicious milk substitute that is made from ground almonds. It is lactose free, contains no cholesterol, and is vegan, so it has some definite advantages. I tried it because I am allergic to milk and can only have milk in small doses. Then there is the fact that I hate milk, but love things like cereal, and creamy coffee. Soy milk just never tasted right to me. And, while rice milk is fine, it’s way too thin. Almond milk is pure awesomeness. Original almond milk is sweet. It looks just like cow’s milk. I think it tastes way better. It has a very mild flavor and can be used for anything regular milk can. I drink it in my coffee every morning, put it in cereal, and even bake with it. If you are making a savory dish with milk, you would want to get unsweetened (which tastes exactly like regular milk to me.) I normally buy Silk brand, because it’s what is most widely available in my area. But, I have had other brands and they have all been wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2012 by in Eat, Food Finds, Vegan Friendly.