Eat. Home. Live.

In depth ramblings about cooking, homekeeping, and whatever else I decide to write about.

Home- Insanely Easy Door Decor for the Crafting Challenged

For some weird reason, I feel like I’m not a complete woman if I buy a pre-made wreath from a store. I feel like a sad, pathetic, crafting failure because I can’t make a wreath for crap. I’ve tried. They always come out looking spazzy. I have been bound and determined to find a way to have a homemade wreath on my door that doesn’t look like my nine-year-old made it.

So, the other day I was at Jo-Ann’s and I saw these darling baskets with straps on them (see above photo.)  They were so cute that I wanted to buy one without having a clue as to what I would do with it. Then, it hit me, I could find some great greenery, tuck it into the basket and have something really awesome on my door that would serve in place of a wreath. and, it would be perfect for my lazy butt because it can be left out for all seasons.

I ended up printing out a 50% off coupon and buying the basket for $12.50. There wasn’t any greenery I liked there, so I headed across the street to Hobby Lobby and grabbed four greenery bushes for 50% off. I arranged them in a way I thought would look nice and bound them together with a rubber band. Then, I knotted the handle and hung it on my door.  The bushes are pretty heavy and would not easily blow out based on the way they are arranged. If you wanted to do something similar and use lightweight greenery, you can just hot glue foam into the basket or tin and stick the greenery into that to anchor it.

This literally took me 2 minutes to put together and looks way better than anything else I have ever made. It cost about $30.00 when all was said and done.

The great thing is that you don’t have to use a basket like mine. I have seen similar baskets, but you could also use a wall basket or a metal wall pocket. I see all kinds of containers that you can do something similar with.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2012 by in Crafts, Home.